Pondering on the Things that Pondered me Most

January 9, 2009

 Stepping back into the past, I remember when I was a little girl and I used to go to Sunday school. I always felt like everything the teacher had to say was just a repeat of everything I already knew. ‘”Love God”, okay I know that. “Obey God”, okay I know that as well. “Love and obey your parents”, okay, I know that as well!’ Like most of us do at such a young age, I used to go to church just to see my friends. But if anyone ever asked me why I went to church, I’d give the usual accurate answer that every Christian uses, “To learn about God”. Oh, it’s so easy to fake Christianity! All one has to do is be polite to everyone, smile, and learn all the right answers! Simple!

 I wouldn’t say I was a fake Christian though, no, no! Just a young child that had not yet comprehended what it actually “meant” to be a Christian. 

 Looking back now, I wonder what I would have heard if I’d perhaps listened to the teacher a little harder…

 But you know, I’ve lived on this earth for such a small amount of time. Yet sometimes I feel as if I’ve been here for thousands of years. Sometimes I wonder if the years that have gone by I could have done more with, could’ve made a better impact, could’ve done something bigger. I often have to remind myself that after giving my life to Christ my time became His, and God does not waste His time. Each moment I’ve lived through has been exactly what it was supposed to be, no more, no less.

 Now, I could share with each of you what I believe being a Christian means. But I’m not going to do that this time. Over the years I’ve learnt a valuable lesson in which thinking for one’s self is good, very good!

 So I’ll leave you with the thought. Tell me, what do you think it means to be a Christian? Just to obey and love God?

 Get’s one thinking, doesn’t it?

With Love,

Christian soldier

Leave a Reply

